Being a Licensed Mechanic is a highly skilled and responsible job. It takes two years of theoretical studies and two more years of practical experience in a maintenance organisation, in order to be eligible for the Aircarft Maintenance Licence (AML). Having obtained the AML, licensed mechanics routinely undertake continuation training and gain additional practical experience in specific aircraft types, before they can release an aircaft into service.

Training courses can start at any time, but candidates cannot apply for the AML until the age of 18. Training includes both theoretical and practical elements, followed by examinations and practical assessments.

The candidates must demonstrate sufficient English language competency, oral and written, in order to safely interact with maintenance personnel, technical documentation and procedures necessary to support the issue of a Certificate of Release to Service (CRS).

Categories of Aircraft Mechanics

Licensed Aircraft Mechanics are divided into the following main categories according to European Aviation Legislation:

Category A. A category A AML permits the holder to issue certificates of release to service following minor scheduled line maintenance and simple defect rectification tasks.

Category B1. A category B1 AML permits the holder to issue certificates of release to service following any scheduled and unscheduled maintenance (line, base, modifications) and defect rectification tasks performed on aircraft structure, power plant, mechanical, electrical, limited on avionic systems. This licence applies for airplane turbine, airplane piston, helicopter turbine and helicopter piston. The category B1 AML includes the corresponding A category.  

Category B2. A category B2 AML permits the holder to issue certificates of release to service following any scheduled and unscheduled maintenance (line, base, modifications) and defect rectification tasks performed on aircraft avionics systems. The category B2 AML does not include the corresponding A category.

Category B3. A category B3 AML is applicable to piston-engine non-pressurized airplanes of 2000 Kg Maximum Take Off Mass (MTOM) and below.

Category C. This is when the candidate decides to follow and attend the relevant course which will provide them with technical knowledge sufficient to release aircrafts into service following Base Maintenance.

The main courses provided by Aviatec are EASA Part-66 Cat A, B1 and C for turbine engine airplanes, in the form of comprehensive modular courses including Practical Training in real maintenance environment and at our own workshops.


The training subjects that a candidate has to attend at Aviatec in order to become a Licensed Aircraft Mechanic are divided into the following modules according to the European Aviation Legislation requirements:

Module 1. Mathematics
Module 2. Physics
Module 3. Electrical Fundamentals
Module 4. Electronic Fundamentals
Module 5. Digital Techniques in Electronic Instrument Systems
Module 6. Materials and Hardware
Module 7. Maintenance Practices
Module 8. Basic Aerodynamics
Module 9. Human Factors
Module 10. Aviation Legislation
Module 11A. Turbine Airplane Aerodynamics, Structures and Systems (for B1.1 only)
Module 12. Helicopter Aerodynamics, Structures and Systems
Module 13. Aircraft Aerodynamics, Structures and Systems (for B2 only)
Module 14. Propulsion (for B2 only)
Module 15. Gas Turbine Engine (for B1.1 only)
Module 17. Propeller (for B1.1 only)

Modules are taught at different levels of knowledge depending on whether the candidate wishes to obtain a A, B1 or B2 AML. Upon completion of each module the candidate has to sit an exam which if successful, will be credited accordingly. The exams have a certain standard of pass grade (75%) and each exam comprises different kinds of tests like multiple choice questions, essays, practical tests etc.

Aviatec has established practical training facilities in order to comply with the practical training requirements.

The main training facility is fully equipped and includes heavy machinery, sheet metal work equipment, an actual aircraft and various aircraft components including a complete gas turbine engine as well as test and calibration units, in order to support customer training needs and help build up students’ practical skills. Practical training will also be conducted on operational commercial aircraft. 

Aviatec is working closely with maintenance organisations and technological institutions thus we are able to provide a single comprehensive practical training solution meeting all EASA legislated training requirements.


Aviatec Training Center, in collaboration with Ryanair, Europe’s Favorite Airline, is offering its students (on completion of their Full Basic training course) the opportunity to apply for direct participation in the Ryanair JAE (Junior Aircraft Engineer) program in order to gain the required experience to work in this exciting field of aviation and get their EASA Part66 license.